Mt. Calvary Baptist Church was organized March 1926 in the home of Fess and Flora Young. G. E. Hogue, Moderator of the Gold Hill Association presided over the meeting. The Moderator then called for those who had letters. They were Fess Young, Aaron Harris, Eddie Price, Washington Akridge, and William Matthews. Rev. Hogue read the covenant and articles of faith, and then declared the church properly organized. Brother Fess Young motioned to name it Mount Calvary, and it was adopted. The doors of the church were opened to join on Christian experience. Those who joined were Lillie Price, Lizzie Moon, Flora Young, Lucy Spear, Rosa Mae Spear, Janie Matthews, Fannie Williams, Marton Mumford, Thomas Spear, and Ada Young.

Rev. Hogue served as Pastor Pro-tem, and the organized church held services in other churches until a church was built. The first deacons were Bros. Fess Young, Eddie Price, William Matthews, Martin Mumford, and Aaron Harris.

The new church building was completed in February 1928. The first service was held in the new church the third Sunday in February. The cost of the church including land, building and furnishings was approximately $4,000.00. Several donations were made by people of the community. Through the years, the following ministers have pastored the church:
Rev. A.M. Means,
Rev. C. A. Weaver,
Rev. J. N. Moss,
Rev. T. H. Rogers,
Rev. J. A. Dawkins,
Rev. J. A. White,
Rev. J. H. White,
Rev. B. M. Parker,
Rev. Grady Boyce,
Rev. R. E. Devoe,
Rev. Dr. Samuel A. Raper,
Rev. Dr. M. Lamont Littlejohn Jr., 2003 – present

To God is the Glory!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *